Kevin S. Jones, Distinguished Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering College of Engineering named 2017-2018 Teacher/Scholar of the Year.

Colleges are invited to submit nominations for the UF Teacher/Scholar of the Year Award for 2018-2019, due date is January 25, 2019.  Originating in 1960, this is the University of Florida's most prestigious and oldest faculty award.  It offers an honorarium of $6,000 in addition to other appropriate recognition.  Current faculty members of the University are eligible for consideration for this significant award. The selected faculty member will receive an SEC Academic Consortium Faculty Achievement Award, and will be UF’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year award.

Each year this award is given to a faculty member who demonstrates distinguished achievement in both teaching and scholarly activity (manifested by scholarly research, creative writing, original works of art, etc.) and visibility within and beyond the university.  The awardee serves as a model of excellence and an example of the teacher/scholar as represented at the University of Florida.

Each college can nominate ONE faculty member at the rank of FULL professor who best exemplifies the criteria for this award.

Nominations should follow the template.  Please submit the electronic materials using the Teacher Scholar Template (no other format is acceptable).   The nomination dossiers will be reviewed by a sub-committee of the Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars.  The awardee will be notified in early March.