June 21, 2017

Student Conduct Committee

Student Conduct and Conflict Resolution in the Dean of Students Office is currently recruiting new faculty, staff, and graduate students to serve on our Student Conduct Committee. Student Conduct Committee members play an integral role in educating students about their rights and responsibilities as members of the UF community, upholding community behavioral standards, and implementing the Student Conduct Code and Honor Code. New Student Conduct Committee members are required to attend training on Thursday, July 27, 2017 from 1-5pm in the Student Conduct and Conflict Resolution Conference Room in 202 Peabody Hall. If you are interested or have any questions please contact Christine Natal at

Submitted by Christine Natal, Dean of Students Office


Faculty Awards

Eric Krause Earns New Investigator Award from American Physiological Society

Eric Krause, Ph.D., an assistant professor of pharmacodynamics, has earned the American Physiological Society, or APS, Central Nervous System Section New Investigator Award. The accolade recognizes an outstanding investigator in the early stages of his or her career who has made meritorious contributions to the central nervous system area of study. Krause received the award at the APS Central Nervous System Section’s reception at the 2017 Experimental Biology meeting in Chicago. A member of the UF College of Pharmacy faculty since 2011, Krause studies how the central nervous system coordinates behavioral and physiological responses to stress.

Submitted by Matthew Splett, College of Pharmacy

The LIGO  Scientific Collaboration (LSC) Has Won Yet Another Award for the Detection of Gravitational Waves

US physicists Rainer Weiss, Kip S. Thorne and Barry C. Barish and LIGO Scientific Collaboration (LSC) have been bestowed with the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research. The Princess of Asturias Foundation convenes the Princess of Asturias Awards, which are presented at an academic ceremony held each year in Oviedo, capital of the Principality of Asturias. The Foundation’s aims are to contribute to extolling and promoting those scientific, cultural and humanistic values that form part of the universal heritage of humanity and to consolidate the existing links between the Principality of Asturias and the title traditionally held by the heirs to the Crown of Spain.

More details can be found at:   

The Florida LIGO group consists of faculty researchers Hai-Ping Cheng, John Conklin, Stephen Eikenberry, Sergey Klimenko, Guenakh Mitselmakher, Guido Mueller, Dave Reitze, David Tanner, and Bernard Whiting. Imre Bartos will join the Physics Department and the UF LIGO group in the fall.


Office of the Provost
University of Florida

235 Tigert Hall
P. O. Box 113175
Gainesville, FL 32611